Welwyn Garden City Horticultural Society

Past Speakers


This web site is updated regularly Last updated 17th November 2018

Site constructed in Serif X4 and managed by Michael  D.  Beckett michaeldbeckett@btopenworld.com                   
















D. Beckett   managMichael  D. Beckett

Site constructed and managed by Michael  D. Beckett

Programme 2018/2019






11.12.2018 “The History of Luton Hoo Walled Garden from the 17th to the 21st Centuries”   The 5 acre Luton Hoo Walled Garden was designed by Lancelot “Capability” Brown and

established by John Stuart, 3rd Earl of Bute in the late 1760s. It was productive well into the 20th century. Since 2001 the Walled Garden has been undergoing restoration by an enthusiastic band of over 100 volunteers with the Estate Management team.

Good wine and mince pies will be served tonight.


12.2.2019 Kathy Brown “The Edible Flower Garden”



12.3.2019 Timothy Walker “How to be a 21st Century Gardener”


9.4.2019 Darren Lerigo “What Do I Do With This Space”


14.5.2019 Nick Bailey “365 Days of Colour in Your Garden


Welwyn Planning and Amenity Group web site gives our programme and a lot of information about the village which members may find interesting.  wpag.org.uk


Roy Lancaster         

Dr. Phillip Cribb

Geoff Hodge          

Colin Ward

Charles Dowding

Andrew Halstead

Anne Godfrey                

Dr. Brenda Harold

Dr Andrew Ward

Alistair Gunn

John Negus     

Dr. Keith Furguson.

Dr. Nigel Dunnet.

Russell Bowes .   

Charles Adams.

Caradoc Doy

Carol Sharp .

Oliver Waring

Tony Kirkham

Ursula Buchan

Prof. Fiona Stafford Rosy Hardy

James Crebin -Bailey




Paul Pulford        

Anne Roberts

Barry Newman Timothy Walker

Andrew Brogan

Michael Clark

Anne Luder               

Jim Gardener

Aubrey Barker

Ken Thompson

Jane Owen     

Chris Bailes

Patricia Fox

Andrew McIndoe  

Kate Harwood

Stephen Harmer

Simon Charlesworth

Tom Stuart-Smith Jacqueline Aviolet Ray Broughton   

Noel Kingsbury Lady Skelmersdale Jim Buttress

Alan Sergent

Meetings are held in St.Francis’ Church Hall on the 2nd Tuesday of months - Feb., March, April, May, Sept, Oct., Nov., Dec., at 8pm. Doors open at 7.40pm.